PSU DuBois grapplers capture PSUAC wrestling title at USCAA Invitational

Ty Haines, Penn State DuBois wrestler.

Ty Haines from Penn State DuBois took second place at 157 pounds at the USCAA Invitational.

Credit: Steve Harmic

Penn State DuBois was the top finishing Penn State University Athletic Conference (PSUAC) team at the United States Collegiate Athletics Association (USCAA) National Wrestling Invitational at Rec Hall on the University Park campus on Sunday. DuBois outdistanced Mont Alto by 11.5 points (130 to 120.5). Both teams wrestled extremely well scoring points in nine of the 11 weight classes.

West Virginia Tech captured the USCAA team championship with 157.5 points. WVU Tech was carried to the championship with six individual champions and two third place finishers.

DuBois was led into the finals by Champion (184) Logan Shirey, runner-up JP Hayles (141), Ty Haines (157), John Prentice (174).  Placing third was Dennis Lumadue (184); fourth place Brett Himes (125), Jake Himes (149), Joe Knarr (174), Tim Suydan (235).  Placing fifth were Tige Woodson (197) and Andrew Bigley (285).

A total of 11 teams were entered into the championship; five USCAA members and six team from the PSUAC with a total of 101 wrestlers.  Following team champions in the standings were second place Penn State DuBois (132 points), Alfred State (131), Penn State Mont Alto (120.5), Apprentice (104).

The other five weight class champions were earned by Mont Alto at 149 and 165, DuBois at 184, New Kensington at 174, and Apprentice at 285. Ian Jones (285 pounds) from Apprentice School became the only wrestler to capture four USCAA National Wrestling Invitational titles.                       

Individual results by weight: Championship finals

125: TJ Bean (WVU Tech), decision 7-3  Jacob Michael (App)

133: Curtis Cox (WVU Tech), decision 8-3, Zack Stouffer (Mont Alto)

141: Rob McNeill (WVU Tech), decision 5-1, JP Hayles  (DuBois)

149: Tyler Warner (Mont Alto), decision 9-4. Ty Watkins (App)

157: Conrad Lacy (WVU Tech), fall, Ty Haines (DuBois)

165: Clay Kocsis (Mont Alto), decision 6-0, George Vanvalen  (Alfred St.)

174: Phillip Marra (New Kensington), decision 2-1 OT, John Prentice  (DuBois)

184: Logan Shirey (DuBois), 9-5  Brad Haggerty, (Alfred St.)

197: Terry Nance (WVU Tech), decision 8-3  Juan Nunez, (Alfred St.)

235: Wyatt Norfolk (WVU Tech), fall, Rodjrecko Christian (Greater Allegheny)

285: Ian Jones (App), decision 5-1, Dean Lusk (New Kensington)